Getting Started with Workstream

Follow

This article covers the information you need to know to configure Workstream for your team.

Note: Workstream is a separate product from Webdam, to learn more about adding Workstream to your account, contact your Customer Success Manager.

 

Accessing Workstream

  • Log in to Webdam.

  • Click your name in the top right-hand side of the navigation and select Workstream.

name_nav.png


Preferences

To access the Preferences, log in to Workstream and click the Manage tab in the secondary navigation.

Screen_Shot_2018-02-14_at_3.56.56_PM.png

Workstream access:

  • Choose which contributor groups have access to Workstream. These groups correspond to the groups that exist in your DAM.
  • If you’d like to create groups specifically for Workstream, you will need to create them in Webdam. Click here to learn more about Configuring Users and Groups.

Teams

If you have Projects or Tasks that often require coordination between the same set(s) of people, you can create Teams that allow you to quickly send assets for approval to a group of Webdam users without requiring you to enter each user individually.

  • To create a Team, login to Webdam, click Teams in the top navigation and select Teams from the dropdown.
  • Click Add.png to Add a new team.
  • Enter a team name and description if desired. Click Save.
  • To add members to a team, click the number in the User Count column. In the dialogue box, add users in the Add Users to this Team field. Click Save.

Screen_Shot_2017-07-12_at_4.00.04_PM.png

Approval Path

If desired, select the default approval path for all newly created tasks (users will still be able to change this to select a path other than the default).  

 

Assets:

Check the box under the Assets section to make assets uploaded to a project or task inactive, meaning they cannot be downloaded by any user or viewed by end users (read more about asset statuses). We suggest checking this box to ensure assets in production aren’t accessed by unauthorized users.

  • Locally stored assets: Assets that are added to a task or project and were not previously housed in your DAM, will appear in a folder titled Workstream Assets. By default, only admins will be able to view the Workstream Assets folder. Once the assets have been added to the DAM, they can be moved to other folders with the permissions of that folder applied.

    Note: Do not delete or rename the Workstream Assets folder.
  • DAM assets: Assets that are added to a task or project from a folder in your DAM will remain in their original folder and will be  accessible to those who have permissions to view and download them.

 

Proofing

Select whether you want proofs created for every uploaded asset or if proofs will only be available when requested. 

 

Deadline Warnings

Select the timeframe that users should receive notifications about due dates or project launch dates.

 

Task statuses:
Task statuses are a way for users to provide updates on the status of a particular task. Some task statuses can be renamed and you can create up to 30 custom statuses. To create a custom task status:

  • In Workstream, click Manage in the secondary navigation. On the Preferences page, you can create, rename or edit the color of task statuses.

  • To edit the status name, click Edit Title.

  • To edit the color of a status, click the color preview swatch and select or enter the Hex code for your desired color.

 Screen_Shot_2017-09-13_at_12.19.31_PM.png

  • To create a new status, click the + in the upper right of the Task statuses menu. A New Status label will appear in your status list, enter the new name for the status and select a color.
  • To reorder statuses, grab the handle Screen_Shot_2017-10-04_at_11.27.44_AM.png along the left side of the label and move it to the desired location.

  • To delete a status, hover over a status and click the X on the right side of the label. 

Screen_Shot_2017-10-04_at_10.49.37_AM.png

Statuses are categorized into three groups:

  • Tasks that count toward "not completed" percentage, when calculating the completion percentage of a project, tasks labeled with any of these statuses will comprise the portion of the project that is incomplete.

  • Tasks that count toward "completed" percentage, when calculating the completion percentage of a project, tasks labeled with any of these statuses will comprise the portion of the project that is complete.

  • Inactive statuses, statuses in this category will not show in Change status dropdown menu.

Note: Moving statuses here may be helpful for highly customized, project-specific statuses that you may want to use again. An example would be statuses related to the creation of an annual report, you may want to make them inactive for the period of the year you're not working on the annual report.

 

Notifications:

Notifications in alert Assignees, Watchers, Sponsors and Requesters of critical events that take place regarding projects and tasks they're associated with. Users will receive an email to alert them of notifications within Workstream. Notifications can also be accessed within Workstream by clicking the Notification Screen_Shot_2018-03-19_at_11.09.25_AM.png icon in the top right. 

The following are some, not all, examples of alerts a user may receive:

  • Task assignees are notified when a they are assigned to a (new) task, due date changes, task comments, asset approval comments, upcoming task due dates, etc.

  • Project sponsors are notified when a project is created, completed, sponsorship changes, launch date changes, all project tasks are marked complete, etc.

  • Watchers are notified when a project is created, upon being added to project or task, completion of a project/task, changes to project/task launch or due dates, etc.

  • Requestors are notified when an asset is approved with or without changes, rejected, moving to the next approval step, etc.

Note: Notification settings cannot be configured at this time. All notifications associated with each user type will be collated in the in-app Notifications List in addition to triggering an email alert. Additionally, notifications only show when the action is completed by someone other than yourself (i.e. you will not get a notification if you add yourself to a project as a watcher).

 

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Request Support
Existing Request